SharePoint 2016, Sharepoint 2013, Sharepoint 2010, Windows Server 2012, Sql Server 2012,2014,IIS, Active Directory,User Profile Service, Managed MetaData Service, Search Service, Topology, Web Application, IIS, Site collection, List, Library, PowerShell, office web app, Windows Authentication, NTLM, Kerberos, Saml, ADFS, Active Directory Import, MIM, SharePoint 2016 Site Use Confirmation and Deletion – SharePoint

SharePoint 2016 Site Use Confirmation and Deletion

On this Page, we will configure the Site usage confirmation and deletion settings for a web app.

You have to be careful when you configure Site user confirmation and deletion settings. If you properly plan this features, then a big advantage is that your farm is cleaned (no inactive site collection) and free the resources in the farm (i.e. storage, resources a site collection use). This feature required proper planning before enabling it because you can lose the data( site collections).

In order to use this feature, an outgoing email must be configured in the farm, because SharePoint will send the email notification to the owner of the Site collection for user confirmation.

Couple of things to make sure:

  • A backup procedure must be in place
  • A secondary Site collection administrator (to avoid any mess-up), SharePoint Send the email notification to both Primary and secondary site collection administrator, if one of them is on vacation then other can respond.

To configure.

  • Login to central admin with farm admin account
  • On the SharePoint Central Administration, click Application Management.

  • On this page, click Site Use Confirmation and Deletion, Under the Site Collection.
  • On the Site Use Confirmation and Deletion page, in the Web Application section, click the down arrow next to Web Application, and then click Change Web Application.

  • Select the TeamWeb Web Application.

  • In the Confirmation and Automatic Deletion Settings section, please enter the following information.
  1. Select the Send e-mail notification to owners of unused site collections check box.
  2. Enter 180 days, after the site creation or site usage, is confirmed.
  3. Now Select the Weekly.
  4. Run the check at 12 Am.
  5. Select the Automatically delete the site collection.
  6. Enter the 14 notices, after which a site collection will be removed.

  • Click OK.

 

Parameters:

  1. Check the Box, this will enable Site usage and Deletion Confirmation.
  2. Number of days( default value is 90), after that number of days Site collection start receiving the notification for confirmation of site usage. Minimum value is 30 days and maximum value is 365 days.
  3.  Select when the timer job will check and send the Notification. You can select from daily, weekly or Monthly.
  4. Time of Day when the timer job will run.
  5. check the box, if we want to delete the site automatically if usage is not confirmed. this one is risky so be careful before enabling it.
  6. Enter the number of notices, after which a site collection permanently removed.

You can read more abou this feature over here:Manage unused Web sites

You may also like...

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *